Elton John New Album ‘The Lockdown Sessions’ features Young Thug, Nicki Minaj, Lil Nas X, ETC

    The English singer, songwriter, pianist and composer Elton John has returned with his new album, The Lockdown Sessions.

    His 16-track release is a collection of collaborations Elton recorded during the COVID-19 pandemic. It’s highlighted by guest appearances from Young Thug and Nicki Minaj (“Always Love You”), Lil Nas X (“One of Me”), Dua Lipa (“Cold Heart”), 6lack (“The Pink Phantom”), Charlie Puth (“After All”), and more.

    “The last thing I expected to do during lockdown was make an album,” Elton shared. “But, as the pandemic went on, one‐off projects kept cropping up and I’ve ended with a selection of really interesting and diverse stuff that was completely different to anything I’m known for, stuff that took me out of my comfort zone into completely new territory.”

    Sir Elton’s new track with Thugger follows their 2018 collaboration “High,” and arrives just a few weeks after the legendary singer-songwriter spoke to Billboard about “Always Love You,” praising the Atlanta rapper’s freestyle skills.

    “I mean, I’ve seen Marshall [Mathers] do it in Detroit, but I’ve never seen someone like Thug come in and do that,” Elton explained. “In the end, I had to leave because I think he felt a bit intimidated that I was there and I just wanted him to relax. But it’s just an amazing moment in my musical life… I have no understanding of how rap records are put together and it’s fascinating to watch.”


    Dream Hub Africa
    Dream Hub Africa
    Curating dreams within the African context and beyond one person at a time. Engineering Fundamentals and information for borderless and global leverage through transforming and impactful content and conversations.

    Latest articles

    Related articles